As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
A DeWalt drill and battery bought together is the simplest way into the brand’s cordless tools, but the kits vary more than their similar names suggest. Some include one battery, some two; some pair the drill with an impact driver; one is a heavy hammer drill built for concrete; and one arrives as a bare tool with no battery or charger at all. For a first home toolkit, the useful questions are what you will actually drill into, whether you want a second tool for driving long screws, and whether you already own 20V MAX batteries that could save you from buying another charger.
According to the listings, the six products fall into three groups. The single-drill kits are the brushless DCD777D1, the compact DCD771C2 and the premium DCD1007WW1 hammer drill. The two-tool combo kits are the DCK240C2 and the brushless DCK277D2, each with a drill, an impact driver, two batteries, a charger and a bag. Finally, the DCD777B is the tool-only version of the brushless compact drill, meant for readers who already have 20V MAX packs.
DeWalt Drill Kit Lineup at a Glance
| Model | What is in the box | Motor | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|
| DCD777D1 | Drill, battery, charger | Brushless | 2.0Ah |
| DCD1007WW1 | Hammer drill, battery, charger | Brushless | 8Ah |
| DCD771C2 | Drill, 2 batteries, charger, bag | High performance motor | 2 x 1.3Ah |
| DCK240C2 | Drill, impact driver, 2 batteries, charger, bag | Listing does not specify | Capacity not specified |
| DCK277D2 | Drill, impact driver, 2 batteries, charger, bag | Brushless | 2 x 2.0Ah |
| DCD777B | Drill only | Brushless | Not included |
The Models in Detail
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver (DCD777D1) Work in tight areas with a compact design that gets into tough spots
Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.6/10
Best for: DIYers wanting a brushless two-tool kit
Pros
- Brushless DCD777 and DCF787
- Two 2.0Ah batteries
- Variable speed trigger
Cons
- Torque and rpm specs unclear

Best for: Beginners wanting drill and impact driver
Pros
- Drill plus 1/4 in. impact driver
- Two batteries, charger, bag
- Both tools have LED lights
Cons
- Battery capacity not stated
- Motor type not stated

Best for: Furniture assembly and light home repairs
Pros
- Two 1.3Ah batteries
- Charger and contractor bag
- Compact, lightweight design
Cons
- Not for concrete or masonry
- Brushed high performance motor

Best for: Concrete, masonry and large-hole jobs
Pros
- 2,100 in-lbs max torque
- 8Ah battery included
- Anti-rotation shutdown system
Cons
- More tool than light DIY needs
- Weight not listed

Best for: First-time owners wanting a brushless drill
Pros
- Brushless motor
- 0Ah battery and charger included
- Compact 7.6-inch length
Cons
- Single battery in kit
- Drill only, no impact driver
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver set, model DCD777D1, is a brushless 1/2 in. compact drill with a 2.0Ah battery and charger in the box. The listing states a 7.6 in. front-to-back length, a two-speed transmission up to 1,500 rpm, a single-sleeve ratcheting chuck and 340 unit watts out. It lists 53.1 N m of maximum torque, an LED with a 20-second trigger release delay, an ergonomic comfort grip and a three-year limited warranty.
The brushless motor is the key upgrade over older compact drills. Brushless designs avoid the friction of brushes, and the listing credits it with more run time than brushed motors. That matters with a single 2.0Ah pack, since you have no spare to swap in while one charges.
This is a sensible first drill for someone hanging shelves, building flat-pack furniture and doing general drilling in wood, plastic and light metal. If you expect to drive lots of long screws, a combo kit with an impact driver will save your wrist.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/2 Inch Hammer Drill Kit (DCD1007WW1) 50% Higher Torque Than A Leading Competitor**
Check price on Amazon Our score: 8.4/10
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1 2 inch hammer drill kit, model DCD1007WW1, is the most powerful tool here. The listing gives 2,100 in-lbs of max torque, three speeds up to 2,000 rpm, an all-metal transmission and a hammer function for large holes in wood, metal and concrete. It ships with an 8Ah battery and charger, and DeWalt claims up to 275 holes per charge.
It also has an anti-rotation system that senses sudden rotational motion from a bind-up and shuts the tool down, a useful safety feature on a drill this strong. Other details include a pivoting three-position LED and a nitro-carburized metal chuck with carbide inserts for bit retention.
Choose it if your plans include anchoring into masonry, boring big holes for plumbing or wiring, or remodeling work. For a desk-and-bookshelf home setup it is more drill than you need, and the DCD777D1 will be easier to handle. The listing does not give its weight.
DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver (DCD771C2) Compact, lightweight design fits into tight areas
Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.2/10
The DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver set, model DCD771C2, includes two XR 1.3Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. It uses a high performance motor delivering 300 unit watts out, with two speeds of 0-450 and 1,500 rpm, a 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck and a compact, lightweight body.
The listing is refreshingly honest about limits: it is suited to home repairs, DIY, light construction, drilling wood, plastic and light metal, and screwdriving, but not to concrete or masonry or heavy industrial use. Torque is listed as both 650 in-lb and 530 in-lb in different fields, so treat the lower figure as the safer expectation.
Two batteries mean one can charge while you work, which suits weekend projects. It gives way to the DCD777D1 if you want a brushless motor, and to the hammer drill for masonry.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver (DCK240C2) Easily change bits with quick release hex chuck
Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.4/10
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver combo kit, model DCK240C2, pairs the DCD771 compact drill/driver with a 1/4 in. impact driver, plus two batteries, a charger and a storage bag. The listing gives the impact driver a 5.55 in. length and 2.8 lbs weight, and the drill 7.5 in. and 3.6 lbs.
Both tools have LED lights with a 20-second delay. The impact driver has a 1/4 in. hex chuck for one-handed loading of 1 in. bit tips, and the drill uses a 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck. The warranty is three years limited. The listing does not state battery capacity, and it writes the impact driver’s model in a way that does not match the usual naming, so confirm the details on the box.
This is the classic starter pair: the drill makes the holes and the impact driver sinks screws and lag bolts. If you want a brushless version of the same idea, the DCK277D2 below is the step up. Our guide to the DeWalt impact driver kit with battery goes deeper into the driver side.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Brushless (DCK277D2) DEWALT Power drill brushless motor delivers more run time over brushed
Check price on Amazon Our score: 8.4/10
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver brushless kit, model DCK277D2, includes the DCD777 1/2 in. drill/driver and the DCF787 1/4 in. impact driver, two 2.0 compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. The listing mentions a 7.6 in. front-to-back length, an ergonomic grip, an LED with a 20-second delay, a variable speed trigger and a quick-release hex chuck.
The spec block lists 1,500 in-lb of torque and 2,800 rpm without saying which tool those numbers belong to; they do not match the drill figures on the DCD777 listings, so do not read them as drill specs. The warranty description covers a one-year free service contract, a three-year limited warranty and a 90-day money back guarantee.
For a first-time owner who wants a complete, brushless setup from day one, this is the most rounded kit in the list. It gives way to the DCD1007WW1 only for masonry and large holes.
DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill, Tool Only (DCD777B) DEWALT brushless motor delivers more run time over brushed
Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.6/10
Best for: Owners already holding 20V MAX batteries
Pros
- Brushless, up to 57% more runtime
- Compact 7.52-inch length
- Two-speed transmission
Cons
- No battery or charger included
- Torque figures conflict
The DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill, model DCD777B, is the tool-only version, and the listing states plainly that the battery and charger are sold separately. It is a brushless 1/2 in. drill/driver with 340 unit watts out, up to 57% more runtime over brushed motors, a two-speed transmission, a 7.52 in. length, an LED and an ergonomic handle.
Some listing details do not line up. The description calls it a hammer drill/driver while the spec calls it a basic drill, and torque appears as both 249.33 N m and 39.1 ft-lb, which are very different figures. The rpm is listed as 1,600. Treat it as the same compact brushless drill found in the DCD777D1 kit.
This suits readers who already own 20V MAX batteries from another tool. If you are starting from scratch, the DCD777D1 kit is the same drill with a battery and charger included. For tight spots, also see our small DeWalt drill roundup.
Matching a Model to Your Setup
- A first apartment or home office setup with shelves and furniture to assemble: the DCD777D1, with its brushless motor and included battery.
- A renter doing light fixes who wants two batteries and a bag: the DCD771C2.
- Someone decking, fencing or driving lots of long screws: the DCK240C2 or DCK277D2 combo kit.
- A homeowner mounting into concrete or brick: the DCD1007WW1 hammer drill with its 8Ah battery.
- An existing 20V MAX owner wanting a second drill: the DCD777B tool only.
- A beginner who wants brushless tools and a spare battery from the start: the DCK277D2.
Before You Buy
Several listings leave out or muddle the numbers. The DCK240C2 does not state battery capacity or motor type, the DCK277D2 torque and rpm figures are not tied to a specific tool, and the DCD777B and DCD771C2 each list two conflicting torque values. None of the kits list drill bits or driver bits as included, so plan on buying a bit set separately.
Warranty is stated as three years limited on the DCD777D1, DCK240C2 and DCK277D2; the other listings do not specify it. The hammer drill listing gives no weight, which matters if you will be working overhead. If metal work is on your list too, our DeWalt sheet metal cutter guide covers a tool the drills cannot replace.
FAQ
Which DeWalt drill kit should I buy first?
For most home users, the DCD777D1 covers everyday drilling with a brushless motor. If you also drive many screws, choose a combo kit.
Does the DCD777B come with a battery?
No. The listing says the battery and charger are sold separately.
Which kit can drill into concrete?
The DCD1007WW1 hammer drill. The DCD771C2 listing specifically says it is not suitable for concrete or masonry.
What is the difference between the DCK240C2 and DCK277D2?
The DCK277D2 uses brushless tools and lists 2.0Ah batteries. The DCK240C2 does not state motor type or battery capacity.
Do these batteries work across DeWalt tools?
The DCD777D1 listing notes compatibility with the 20V MAX battery platform, which is why the tool-only DCD777B makes sense for existing owners.
How many batteries come in each kit?
One in the DCD777D1 and DCD1007WW1, two in the DCD771C2, DCK240C2 and DCK277D2, and none with the DCD777B.