As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

For most homeowners, a drill and an impact driver cover nearly every job around the house: the drill makes holes and drives small screws with control, and the impact driver sinks long screws into studs, decking and lag bolts without twisting your wrist. The question is how much tool you need. Assembling flat-pack furniture and hanging shelves asks far less than building a deck, and buying a kit sized for the second job when you only do the first means carrying more weight than you need.

The six DEWALT products covered here fall into three groups, according to the listings. Four are 20V MAX two-tool combo kits: the entry DCK240C2, the brushless DCK277D2, the renewed ATOMIC DCK225D2R and the XR hammer drill kit DCK250QQ2. One is a drill-only kit, the DCD771C2. One is a bare impact driver, the DCF845B, sold without battery or charger for those already on the 20V platform. All run on DEWALT’s 20V MAX batteries.

DEWALT Drill and Impact Driver Lineup at a Glance

Kit Tools included Batteries Listed highlight
DCK240C2 DCD771 drill, 1/4″ impact driver 2, capacity not stated 2.8 lb impact driver
DCK277D2 DCD777 drill, DCF787 impact driver 2 x 2.0Ah Brushless
DCK250QQ2 DCD806 hammer drill, DCF845 impact driver 2 x 4Ah POWERPACK 1825 in-lb torque
DCK225D2R (Renewed) DCD794 drill, DCF809 impact driver 2Ah per title 5.88″ drill head length
DCD771C2 DCD771 drill only 2 x 1.3Ah Two speeds, 300 UWO
DCF845B Impact driver only None 1825 in-lb, 3 speeds

The Models in Detail

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Kit, DCK240C2 Our Most Powerful 20V MAX 2-Speed Hammer Drill

Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.4/10

Best for: Adding an impact driver to existing batteries

Pros

  • 1825 in-lb brushless motor
  • Three speed settings
  • Three-LED work light

Cons

  • Tool only, no battery or charger
  • Chuck size spec is incorrect

Best for: Furniture assembly and shelf hanging

Pros

  • Two-speed 1/2-inch drill
  • Two 1.3Ah batteries and bag
  • Light, compact body

Cons

  • No impact driver included
  • Not for concrete or masonry
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver

Best for: Decking and masonry-adjacent projects

Pros

  • Hammer drill included
  • 1825 in-lb impact driver
  • Two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries

Cons

  • Heaviest kit at 4.84 kg
  • More power than furniture needs
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

Best for: DIYers wanting brushless in a compact kit

Pros

  • Brushless 2-tool kit
  • 6-inch front-to-back length
  • Two 2.0Ah batteries

Cons

  • Listed torque not tool-specific
  • No hammer mode
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

Best for: First-time homeowners building a basic kit

Pros

  • Drill and impact driver together
  • Light 2.8 lb impact driver
  • LED lights with 20-second delay

Cons

  • Brushless not listed
  • Battery capacity not stated

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver kit, DCK240C2, is the classic starter combo. It pairs the DCD771 compact 1/2-inch drill/driver, which measures 7.5 inches and weighs 3.6 pounds, with a 1/4-inch impact driver that is 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 pounds. Both tools have LED work lights with a 20-second delay. The drill has a single-sleeve ratcheting chuck, and the impact driver has a hex chuck that allows one-handed loading of 1-inch bit tips.

The kit includes two batteries, a charger and a bag, and carries a 3-year limited warranty. The listing does not give battery capacity or state whether the motors are brushless, and the description names the impact driver as DCF88M2, which looks like a typo; the listing does not clarify the exact model.

This suits homeowners who assemble furniture, hang shelves and tackle the occasional fence repair. It gives way to the DCK277D2 if you want brushless motors, and to the DCK250QQ2 if you plan to build a deck.

DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit, DCK277D2 Easily change bits with quick release hex chuck

Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.4/10

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver kit, DCK277D2, upgrades to brushless motors. It includes the DCD777 1/2-inch drill/driver and the DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver, with two 2.0Ah compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. The listing highlights a compact 7.6-inch front-to-back length, an ergonomic grip, a variable speed trigger, a quick-release hex chuck and an LED with a 20-second delay.

The specifications list 1,500 in-lb of torque and 2,800 rpm without saying which tool those figures belong to; they read like impact driver numbers. Warranty is listed as a 3-year limited warranty, 1-year free service contract and 90-day money back guarantee.

This is a good fit for the homeowner who does projects most weekends: shelving, closet systems, outdoor furniture. For more on brushless drills specifically, see our DEWALT 20V brushless drill guide.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Kit, DCK250QQ2 Work in tight areas with a compact design that gets into tough spots

Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.6/10

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and hammer drill kit, DCK250QQ2, is the heavy-duty option. It pairs the DCD806, described as DEWALT’s most powerful 20V MAX two-speed hammer drill with up to 109% more power and speeds of 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm, with the DCF845 impact driver, which delivers 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 rpm from a brushless motor.

It includes two 20V MAX XR 4Ah POWERPACK batteries and a charger. The listed weight is 4.84 kg. The listing does not mention a bag.

This suits homeowners planning a deck, a pergola, or drilling into brick and block for anchors, where a hammer mode helps. For furniture and shelving alone, it is more tool than you need.

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC Combo Kit (Renewed) Our shortest 20V MAX drill driver

Check price on Amazon Our score: 8.8/10

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1
DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1

Best for: Tight cabinets and renewed-kit buyers

Pros

  • 88-inch drill head length
  • 1,700 in-lb impact driver
  • ATOMIC compact design

Cons

  • Renewed, not new
  • Warranty terms not stated

The DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. drill driver and 1/4 in. impact driver kit is an Amazon Renewed product from the ATOMIC COMPACT SERIES. The DCD794 drill is DEWALT’s shortest 20V MAX drill driver at a 5.88-inch tool head length, with up to 16% more power for drilling. The DCF809 impact driver is 5.1 inches long and delivers 1,700 in-lbs of torque. Both have onboard LEDs.

The title lists 2Ah batteries, and the specifications say seven items are included, without listing them. The listing does not state the warranty for this renewed kit.

This suits people working inside cabinets, between joists or in cramped closets. For a small drill for tight spaces, our DEWALT small drill guide covers the compact end of the range.

DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver Set, DCD771C2 Compact, lightweight design fits into tight areas

Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.2/10

The DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver set, DCD771C2, is a drill-only kit, with no impact driver. It has a two-speed transmission (0-450 and 1,500 rpm), a 300 UWO motor, a 1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck and an ergonomic handle. It includes two XR 1.3Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.

The listing is clear on its limits: suitable for home repairs, DIY, light construction, wood, plastic, light metal and screwdriving; not suitable for concrete, masonry or heavy industrial use. The torque figures conflict, 650 in-lb in one field and 530 in-lb in another.

This suits renters and apartment dwellers who assemble furniture and hang shelves. Add an impact driver later if your projects grow.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver, DCF845B (Tool Only) Brighten work areas – with an integrated 3-led work light for enhanced

Check price on Amazon Our score: 9.0/10

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver, DCF845B, is sold as a bare tool with no battery or charger. It has a brushless motor with 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 rpm, three speed settings, a variable speed trigger, a three-LED work light and a belt hook, and it is Chip Ready for DEWALT’s Tool Connect system. It carries a 3-year limited warranty.

The specifications list a 0.5-inch maximum chuck size, which conflicts with its 1/4-inch hex design. It is the same impact driver named in the DCK250QQ2 kit. For more on DEWALT impact drivers, see our DEWALT 20V driver guide.

This is the right buy for anyone who already owns a 20V MAX drill and batteries, such as the DCD771C2, and wants to add driving power for decking.

Matching a Model to Your Setup

  • New homeowner equipping a first toolbox: DCK240C2.
  • Regular weekend projects with brushless efficiency: DCK277D2.
  • Building a deck or anchoring into brick: DCK250QQ2 hammer drill kit.
  • Working inside cabinets and tight spaces on a renewed budget: DCK225D2R ATOMIC.
  • Furniture assembly and shelves in an apartment: DCD771C2 drill set.
  • Already own 20V MAX batteries and want an impact driver: DCF845B.

Before You Buy

Match the kit to your real projects. Furniture, curtain rods and shelving are drill-driver work; decking, fencing and structural screws are where an impact driver earns its place; masonry anchors need a hammer drill. None of the listings specify battery runtime, and the DCK240C2 does not state battery capacity.

Several specifications conflict: the DCD771C2 lists two torque figures, the DCF845B lists a 1/2-inch chuck, and the DCK277D2 lists torque without saying which tool it belongs to. The renewed ATOMIC kit does not list its seven included items or its warranty. The DCF845B requires a separately purchased battery and charger.

FAQ

Which DEWALT combo should I buy for home projects?

For furniture and shelves, the DCK240C2 or DCK277D2. For decks and masonry, the DCK250QQ2.

Do these tools share batteries?

All are 20V MAX tools, and the DCF845B is designed to use 20V MAX batteries sold separately.

Which kits are brushless?

The DCK277D2, the DCF845 in the DCK250QQ2 and the DCF845B list brushless motors, as does the ATOMIC kit description.

Can the DCD771 drill into concrete?

No. The DCD771C2 listing says it is not suitable for concrete or masonry.

What is the ATOMIC series?

DEWALT’s compact line; the DCK225D2R drill has a 5.88-inch head length.